Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Composed and sung originally in English by Odette Quesada, translated to Tagalog and sung in Tagalog by Su Layug.

Lately I find myself translating English songs to Tagalog. I find this task extra challenging on a couple more levels than translating poetry. My self-imposed challenges are the following:

  1. Transfer of meaning: the meaning of the song must be preserved as much as possible in a culturally resonant way, meaning, the translated lines must sound as though they were written in the target language.
  2. The phrasing must fall naturally, as much as possible, for singability.
  3. If possible, maintain a rhyming scheme, again to contribute to the translated song’s singability. And the most challenging and rewarding one:
  4. The translation must have a turn of phrase or two that is poetically particular to the target language.

The originally English song that I’m featuring here was composed, recorded and immortalized by Odette Quesada — an icon in the Philippine music industry. I chose this particular song as my first (public) adventure in song translation because it has a personal back story, not in the sense of the song’s meaning – a one-sided romance between two friends – but in the twists and turns of friendship and romance that childhood friends sometimes get intertwined in. Many times, these love triangles are not as obvious as the coming-of-age Hollywood movies portray them to be, nor quite as well-defined as the triangle imagined by the non-recipient of the unrequited love. In any case, I’d like to think that in such love-and-friendship stories, friendship ultimately prevails, as it is, in many times, greater and more enduring, than romantic love.

Aking Kaibigan 

Kaibigan ka noon
Kaibigan pa rin ngayon
Hanggang kaibigan na lang nga ba tayong dalawa?
Mahal kita noon
Mahal pa rin ngayon
Ngunit gayunpama’y kaibigan lang pala.
Pag-ibig mo’y sa kanya lang,
Pag-ibig ko’y sa iyo laan
Ngunit kapag malungkot ka,
Lagi akong nandiyan
Ako ang siyang takbuhan mo,
Kakwentuhan ng lambingan niyo,
Ngunit di mo man lang pansin
Ang damdaming nananaig
Sa iyo’y nananabik
Ngunit heto pa rin ako.


Excerpt of the original English, A Friend of Mine
Music and lyrics by Odette Quesada

I've known you for so long
You are a friend of mine
But is this all we'd ever be?
I've loved you ever since
You are a friend of mine
But babe, is this all we ever could be?
You tell me things I've never known
I've shown you love you've never shown
But then again, when you cry
I'm always at your side
You tell me 'bout the love you've had
I listen very eagerly
But deep inside you'll never see
This feeling of emptiness
It makes me feel sad
But then again, I'm glad

To put to the test the viability of the translation, I sing the translated song in a lower key than the original singer does (I am an alto).

Here’s a link to Odette Quesada’s Facebook, where a video of her recent rendition of this song in the original English is posted: https://www.facebook.com/odetteq